Fabrik Entertainment, a Red Arrow Studios company and producer of Bosch (Amazon) and The Killing (AMC), has acquired the television rights to The Patriots (Patrioterna in Swedish) the hugely successful debut novel by Swedish author and journalist Pascal Engman.

The thriller is set in Northern Chile and revolves around a Swedish terrorist cell that attacks leading journalists from some of Sweden’s largest newspapers.

Los Angeles-based Fabrik Entertainment is the producer of Amazon’s Bosch, based on Michael Connelly’s best-selling novel series, and AMC’s The Killing. Red Arrow Studios International will distribute the show worldwide.

“As a Swede living in America, I could immediately see the appeal of the book,” said Henrik Bastin, Fabrik Entertainment CEO. “The Patriots is a fantastically strong and impactful story with global relevance to the times we are living in, I couldn’t stop reading it and wanted Fabrik to bring it to viewers around the world.”

“It feels unreal. When I started writing the novel I didn’t even have a publisher,” says Pascal Engman. “Now I’m working with one of the most prestigious production companies in the industry. I am really thrilled that Fabrik will bring the novel to a larger audience.”

Engman previously worked as a journalist at one of Sweden’s largest evening tabloids, Expressen. Today, he is a full-time author and is currently working on his next novel, The Land of Fire, that will be released in Sweden in September 2018.

About The Patriots
The Patriots is a thriller written by the Swedish author Pascal Engman and is about three Swedish terrorists that attack leading journalists from some of Sweden’s largest newspapers. The novel was released by the publishing company Piratförlaget in August 2017 and the publishing rights have been sold to eight countries (Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Germany, the Netherlands, Poland and the Czech Republic) and the TV rights to the United States. The novel was named the eleventh Best Thriller of the Year by Swedish newspaper Dagens Nyheter in 2017 – both Swedish and international titles included.